Paperhearts 1

Suzy’s POV

Omo… The city’s silent already. What time is it?
1 a.m.
*Sighhhhhh* I’ve been awake that long now? Wow… I didn’t even noticed. I looked over my trash bin and found a dozen of Bacchus aghhhh maybe that’s the reason. But who am I kidding? I know the reason and it’s because I just finished our project. I shouldn’t be up this late but my gutt feeling tell me that something bad will happen if I’ll fall asleep right away so I figured to stay awake a—-
“SUZY!!!!!”

I turned around seeing Yuri unnie, Donghae oppa and Jong oppa carrying a person. I just sighed at the scene thinking that this is becoming more and more like a everyday process.

“What happened?”
“She got shot.” Yuri unnie said while arranging our stuffs.
“And where is it this time?”
” It’s just in the lungs. C’mon let’s go and fix this dino.” Donghae, my oldest brother told me.
“Ok, I need the whole story. NOW.” They all looked at one another signaling if who’s gonna tell me what really happened to Amber.
“We followed her because she just left from our spot with no reason stated. Then we stopped when her car stopped by a club.” Donghae oppa said.
“A club? Why would she be in a club?” I asked even though I’m sensing where this conversation is going.
“There was a text to her saying that Krystal and Min Hyuk were spotted being on each other’s arms. When she was there, we stood from afar, thinking it wasn’t the best time to stop her. Min Hyuk dragged her all the away from the alley and pulled the gun out.”
“And what did our little ice princess do?”
“The usual. You know? That bitch didn’t even bother to check up with her REAL GIRLFRIEND. Just went back inside with Min Hyuk. She even had the gutts to give us the money to take a cab.” Jong oppa told me. I know that he hates Krystal down to the very fiber on his body. I know because I feel the same way about that woman too.
“Yah Jong, watch your mouth. That’s my sister-in-law we’re talking about!” Yuri stated in a ‘matter of fact tone’

“I just don’t get you and Amber Yul. All the genders are after you in this country, yet you’re both stuck with a Jung. They’re cold, heartless and poker-faced species.” Jong reasoned then later on earning a smack from Yuri.
“Soojung may be a bitch Jong, I have to agree with you guys but Jessica is a whole different story man. Yes, she’s cold but she’s a warm ice…. And Jessica will be the best thing that has ever happened to me.”

“Aaaaand cut!” We all turned to Donghae who was busy fidgeting his cellphone.

“What did you do this time Dong?” Yuri asked nervously.

“I’m sending this recorded file to Jessica. So that even if she wakes up without you by her side, she’ll understand you left because you had work.” Donghae oppa said with his flashy dino grin.

“Thanks Donghae-ssi. I’ll make it up to you soon.”

While they were still busy, I kept myself busy too, arguing with my conscience. Thinking whether I should say this one or not.

– If you do this, you will separate two people who are meant to be together. And you’ll be separating from the love of her life.-
” Don’t worry. I’m sure she’ll learn to love someone else.”
-You don’t force love. It just happens.-
“That’s why she’ll learn to love someone else. Because it will ‘just happen’.”
-You’re just trying to tell me indirectly that you want to be that ‘somebody else’ you’re talking about-
“IT’S NOT”
-IT IS-
IT’S NOT”
-IT IS-
“IT’S NOT”
-IT IS-
“IT’S NOT”
-IT IS-
“Fine, think whatever you want to but she deserves to be happy too!”
-And she is right now. Can’t you see? Even though she’s hurting, Soojung makes her happy.-
But that woman is sooooo selfish. Love is never selfish.”
-So you doing this is not selfish at all?-

“IT’S NOT”
-IT IS-
“IT’S NOT”
-IT IS-
“IT’S NOT”
-IT IS-
“All I’m saying is, she deserves this. I just wanted it to give it a try.”
-You’ll both end up hurting. You know that right?-
“Yes.”
-Do it then. Good luck. Don’t tell me I didn’t warn you.-

I was still in the middle of my trance when someone threw a bottle of acohol and it was a perfect hit on my head.

“YAH BAE SUZY!!!!!!!!!” I looked at Yuri unnie with a confused look.
“You’re spacing out again.”
“Uh… Yeah, sorry.”
“What’s the matter?” Jong oppa asked me as he put an arm around my shoulder. Should I tell them?
“Uh guys?”
“Hmmmm?” They all hummed in unison.
“I…. I’ve— I’ve completed it.”

They all looked at me with these shocked expressions. I mean I would be in the same place as they are right now. It’s like what just happened is a miracle. I handed them the results of my research and they couldn’t be more happy. All the 4 of us worked very hard on this project. We worked our asses off but we just couldn’t find the right formula. But now, we have it. We have the finished product that we worked so hard for the past 3 years. Before we would settle in this liquid solution that could heal muscles and tissues and organs also reversing death, but this… This is something more. And probably greater that what we’ve come up.

“Y–you di—-did it.” Donghae oppa still couldn’t believe but he’s the person to go back to reality.

“I thought we weren’t going to make it…” Yuri unnie added.

“You’re right there Yul…” Jong oppa told too.

“But—I… I have an idea. I–I want Amber to test our latest discovery.”

“WHAT!?”

“You know that’s just 100% dangerous Suzy-ah. I mean, this results is okay but, you’ve done this to an animal. I don’t think a person could handle this.” -Donghae

“And Suzy, you know what will happen if we continue with this operation right? You know what will happen to her entire body system right?” -Yuri

“I KNOW.” I said firmly. Not getting the whole point of why they were stopping me. “But don’t you pity Amber? We always keep on fixing her when she could’ve just died a year ago. And I think she has enough guys. I’m tired of doing this! Of staying up late because you guys called me telling me Amber got herself killed again. I’m tired of fixing her and then staying up late a little bit more to just ensure that she’s in stable condition. And then what? Wake up to the fact that she’ll be running back to the woman who doesn’t even give a damn about her? I’m tired of her and with her stupidity. I’m sick of this. I’m done with this! This has to stop!”

An awkward silence was follwed by my outburst. I guess they were shocked again. They were used of me being all the ‘silent and obidient’ type of girl. But not tonight. Just not tonight.

“Then let’s do it.” I looked up to see Donghae oppa, followed by a thumbs-up by Jong and then a faint nod and smile by Yuri unnie. Now it’s my turn to be taken aback.

“You’re not mad?” I know I asked all of them but I was waiting for Yuri unnie to respond.

“I know that you love her Suzy. and I appreciate you’re looking out for her like this. But you know I wouldn’t let Soojung loose this one. I know she still loves Amber and I’ll make her realize it before it’s too late.” Yuri unnie told me with eyes full of determination.

“I know unnie. I promise I wouldn’t do anything to interrupt or destroy your plan.”

“Thanks Suz.” Unnie showed me her genuine smile this time. Thank God she’s okay with that.

“So? What are we waiting for? Let’s do it.” -Donghae

“Project paper heart… ACTIVATED.” -Jonghyun

Don’t worry Amber. From now on, things will be different. I promise you.

Leave a comment